Well, yes, it is rocket science — which doesn’t faze UA teams

2014-05-08T00:00:00Z Well, yes, it is rocket science — which doesn’t faze UA teamsBy Tom Beal Arizona Daily Star Arizona Daily Star

Rocket scientists took the top awards at the 2014 Engineering Design Day this week at the University of Arizona.

A team of aerospace engineering seniors took the $1,000 first-place prize for best overall design, an award sponsored by Sensintel Systems.

The team of Matt Dusard, Tianna Stefano, Daniel Guyll, Varun Patel and Austin Mills designed a two-stage rocket.

A team of aerospace engineering seniors also took the $1,000 prize for best presentation of their work, an award sponsored by Rincon Research.

The team of Joshua Alexander, Anthony Colbert, Dana Cordova, Jeff Gluck, Ian Haubert and John Inman designed a one-third-scale version of the NASA and Lockheed Martin X-56A MUTT aircraft.

Second place for overall design went to a team from the Interdisciplinary Engineering Design program for a system that checks for defects in automotive dashboard clusters.

Team members are Zhe Cao, Lee Johnson, Jeremy Katz, Abraham Lemus and Thomas Lundstrom.

The award is sponsored by Continental Automotive. A full list of awards can be found online at: http://news.engr.arizona.edu

Contact reporter Tom Beal at tbeal@azstarnet.com or 573-4158.

Copyright 2015 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

What's Hot

Featured businesses

View more...

Deals, offers & events

View more...
Tucson.com newsletters

Sign up for Tucson.com e-mail newsletters

Sports news and blog headlines, delivered nightly.

Midmorning update of local business headlines, daily.

Tucson-area obituaries, daily.

Receive the current day's weather forecast in your email!