The Scottsdale Saguaro players stream onto the field after winning the Catalina Foothills vs. Scottsdale Saguaro Class 4A state high school championship football game at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., Nov. 26, 2016. Saguaro won the championship 42-14. Mike Christy / Arizona Daily Star

Mike Christy / Arizona Daily Star

The only Tucson winner against the resources-laden schools from the East Valley was Dennis Bene’s 2013 Salpointe Catholic team, which beat Chaparral 46-20 in the title game. 

Sports columnist for the Arizona Daily Star.