100 days of Summer August & September

2013-05-30T00:00:00Z 100 days of Summer August & September Arizona Daily Star
May 30, 2013 12:00 am

Thursday, Aug. 1

• "Visiting Mr. Green" opens at Live Theatre Workshop. Continues through Aug. 31.

Friday, Aug. 2

• Mark Wahlberg and Denzel Washington team up for "2 Guns," opening nationwide.

Saturday, Aug. 3

• Comedian Sinbad brings his funny stuff to the Fox Tucson.

• Check out the Underwear Party at Club Congress.

• KC and the Sunshine Band at Desert Diamond Casino's Diamond Entertainment Center.

• Sonoita Vineyards' HarvestFest through Aug. 4 at 290 Elgin-Canelo Road in Elgin. 1-520-455-5893.

Sunday, Aug. 4

• Rock 'N' Blues Fest brings Canned Heat, the Edgar Winter Band, Ten Years After, Rick Derringer and Pat Travers to the Fox Tucson.

•Los Lobos, Los Lonely Boys and Alejandro Escovedo at AVA.

Monday, Aug. 5

• Mariachi Extravaganza at the Gaslight.

Tuesday, Aug. 6

• Time to preorder "Duck Dynasty: Season 3."

Wednesday, Aug. 7

• Rockabilly/pop crooner Chris Isaak swings into the Fox.

• The Foals with Drowners at Rialto.

Thursday, Aug. 8

• Rockabilly band Outlaw Rebels perform at the Oro Valley Marketplace, 12155 N. Oracle Road.

Friday, Aug. 9

• USA BMX Southwest Nationals, through Aug. 11, at the Tucson Convention Center.

• 65th Annual Vigilante Days in Tombstone through Aug. 11.

Saturday, Aug. 10

• Art, music, wine and food are in store at the Hilton Indoor Fine Art Festival Aug. 10 and Aug. 11 at 10000 N. Oracle Road.

• The Charlie Daniels Band at Desert Diamond Casino Diamond Entertainment Center.

Sunday, Aug. 11

• Tombstone 10K. www.tombstonevigilantes.com online.

Monday, Aug. 12

• Woodstock 1 concert at the Gaslight.

Tuesday, Aug. 13

• Just in time to bone up for the fall season, "The Mindy Project" Season 1 is out on DVD.

Wednesday, Aug. 14

• "You've Got A Friend - Music of James Taylor & Carly Simon," celebrates the singer/songwriters of the 20th century. DesertView Performing Arts Center.

• Tucson Bird & Wildlife Festival, presented by the Tucson Audubon Society, includes birding and nature history talks, field trips, workshops and lectures as well as a free Nature Expo, at Arizona Riverpark Inn, 350 S. Freeway, through Aug. 18.

• The Wild Feathers at Casino del Sol's AVA.

Friday, Aug. 16

• "Kick-Ass 2" slated to open in theaters.

• Catch "Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan" at the Fox. Also Aug. 18.

Saturday, Aug. 17

• Night at the Museum means bring your flashlight to explore the International Wildlife Museum in the dark.

Sunday, Aug. 18

• Cold War Kids at the Rialto.

Monday, Aug. 19

• It's Magic! at the Gaslight.

Tuesday, Aug. 20

• Happy Birthday, Tucson! Celebrate the big 238 with a flag-raising ceremony and canon fire at a living-history ceremony at Presidio San Agustín del Tucson, downtown.

Wednesday, Aug. 21

"The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones" to open in theaters.

Saturday, Aug. 24

• Ann Schmidt Run to Remember 5K Run/Walk at the Rillito Park Race Track, 4502 N. First Ave. Taggrun.com online.

• Head to Willcox for Farmer John's Birthday Party and the Willcox March for Zane, Orchard Dash 5K, to Aug. 25.

• Club Congress' Art Mart.

• Salsa and Tequila Challenge at La Encantada.

Sunday, Aug. 25

• Rapper Lil Wayne plays Phoenix's Desert Sky Pavilion.

Wednesday, Aug. 28

• Americana singer-songwriter Slaid Cleeves at Plaza Palomino, 2970 N. Swan Road.Tickets on sale in mid-June at www.rhythmandroots.org

Thursday, Aug. 29

• Last home game of the regular season for Tucson Padres Minor League Baseball.

Friday, Aug. 30

• UA football resumes, taking on Northern Arizona University at Arizona Stadium.

Saturday, Aug. 31

• Club Congress' annual three-day HoCo Fest begins.

• Sonoita Labor Day Rodeo through Sept. 2.

• Can autumn be far away? Apple Harvest Celebration 2013 at Apple Annie's Orchard in Willcox, through Sept. 2.

Monday, Sept. 2

• TMC Saguaro National Park 8-miler and 5K.

• "You've Got a Friend - The Music of James Taylor, Carly Simon" and singer/songwriters of the 20th Century at the Gaslight.

Thursday, Sept. 5

•Tucson Fall Gem Shows, various locations, through Sept. 8.

Friday, Sept. 6

• Comedian Kathleen Madigan brings her funny stuff to the Rialto.

• Mid-autumn Festival at Harvest Moon in Oro Valley, through Sept. 12.

Copyright 2014 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Activate
Get weekly ads via e-mail

Deals, offers & events

View more...

From Tucson to Phoenix or Phoenix to Flagstaff. We can take care of all your moving needs in Arizona!

We specialize in intrastate moving throughout Arizona. Free in…

Featured businesses

View more...