Monday, July 1

• Explore Sky Islands at Flandrau Science Center, 1601 E. University Blvd. The interactive exhibits take you from Pima County's lowest valley to the top of Mount Lemmon.

• Blues and Soul Explosion - saluting the music of the Blues Brothers at the Gaslight.

Tuesday, July 2

• The Mini-Time Machine Museum gives the inside scoop on the stories behind the museum's tiny collections. It's at 4455 E. Camp Lowell Drive.

Wednesday, July 3

• Streetlight Manifesto at Rialto, with Skinny Lister.

• Anberlin at The Rock.

Thursday, July 4

• Head to Bisbee for the Coaster Race on Historic Tombstone Canyon, then stay for the parade, and traditional mining mucking and hard-rock drilling contest.

• Fifth Annual Fourth of July 5K Freedom Run/Walk at Golf Links Sports Complex Ramada #3, 2400 S. Craycroft Road. taggrun.com

• Arts Express celebrates the country's birthday with a concert, "Let Freedom Sing," at Centennial Hall.

Friday, July 5

• Cool animals, cool evenings. Check out the Reid Park Zoo's Summer Safari Nights. Lots to do for kids.

Saturday, July 6

• Todd Rundgren at Rialto.

• The Sky Tonight has tips on studying the night skies from your backyard. At Wheeler Taft Abbett Sr. Branch Library, 7800 N. Schisler Drive.

• The Ha:san Bak Saguaro Harvest Celebration marks the saguaro-fruit harvest. At Colossal Cave Mountain Park, 16721 E. Old Spanish Trail in Vail.

Sunday, July 7

• Filter at The Rock.

• Holualoa Firecracker Triathlon at the UA.

Wednesday, July 10

• Comic Jim Gaffigan at AVA.

• Surf Rock Beach Party, featuring the music of Beach Boys and others with the surf sound, a limbo contest, and plenty o' fun. DesertView Performing Arts Center.

Thursday, July 11

• The Go Gos and B-52s at AVA.

Friday, July 12

• West Coast Fest at AVA features Bone-Thugs-N-Harmony, DJ Quik, Mack 10 and Suga Free.

• Happy Together Tour, featuring members from the bands the Turtles, Three Dog Night, and Paul Revere & the Raiders, comes to the Fox.

Saturday, July 13

• Anjelah Johnson at the Rialto.

• Michael Jackson impersonator Kenny Wizz brings "HIStory," a tribute to the king of pop, to AVA.

• The inaugural ScoopFest Ice Cream Festival at Hub.

• Peach Mania at Apple Annie's in Willcox, through July 14.

Sunday, July 14

• Everyone Runs Run With the Roosters Kinney Road 5-Miler at Old Tucson Studios, 201 S. Kinney Road. www.everyoneruns.net

• Tempe's Gin Blossoms are part of the Under the Sun Tour that pulls into AVA with Smash Mouth, Sugar Ray, Vertical Horizon.

Monday, July 15

• Surf Rock Beach Party at the Gaslight.

Wednesday, July 17

• Rodrigo y Gabriela in concert at the Rialto.

Friday, July 19

• Summer Jazz Concert at Main Gate features Heather O'Day. It's at 814 E. University Blvd.

Saturday, July 20

• "Arizona Biennial" exhibit opens at the Tucson Museum of Art. Continues through Sept. 29.

• The Tucson International Children's Film Festival at the Loft Cinema, through July 28.

Sunday, July 21

• All Together Theatre opens "The Princess Who Couldn't Smile" at Live Theatre Workshop. The show is Sundays through Sept. 8.

• Hapa at the Rialto.

Monday, July 22

• JBoog and Katchafire at Rialto.

• Joplin and Hendrix presented by Backbeat Productions at the Gaslight.

Tuesday, July 23

• Rancid/Transplants at the Rialto.

Wednesday, July 24

• Hot enough for ya? Take a dip at the Amphi High School pool or any of the others operated by the city. Get a list at cms3.tucsonaz.gov/parksandrec/aquatics.php

Thursday, July 25

• Arizona Theatre Company's Summer on Stage students perform "Elephant's Graveyard" at the Temple of Music and Art. "In Your Eyes" is July 26.

Friday, July 26

• Tohono Chul Park's Monsoon Madness plant sale through Saturday.

• The Maine at The Rock.

Saturday, July 27

• Matchbox Twenty in concert at AVA.

• The Bodeans at Club Congress.

• Third Annual Breeze in the Trees 5K through the shady Green Valley Pecan Farm orchards. taggrun.com

• Authority Zero CD Release Party at The Rock.

• Garlic Festival at Triangle T Ranch in Dragoon, through July 28.

Sunday, July 28

• Florida Georgia Line gets its shine on at AVA.

Monday, July 29

• Strait Country at the Gaslight.

Wednesday, July 31

• The Canyon State Beard Club presents an evening of heavy metal at The Rock.