KIIM FM radio personality Buzz Jackson was nominated on Thursday for a Country Music Association Award, his first ever CMA nod.

But he couldn’t help feel a strong sense of deja vu.

Two years ago, he was up for a similar honor with the Academy of Country Music, and in the list of fellow nominees was a name that struck a chord of fear for the 20-year veteran broadcaster: Baton Rouge DJ Scott Innes. It wasn’t Innes himself that intimidated Jackson; it was Scooby-Doo, the cartoon character Innes voiced for a couple recent Hollywood films.

When it came to marketing street cred, Innes had him head to toes. Heck, Jackson protested at the time, his young daughter Elizabeth was rooting for Scooby.

“Am I bitter?” Jackson repeated the question Thursday morning, hours after his CMA nomination was announced. “Let’s just say I have a ‘No-Scooby’ policy on the air.”

That policy apparently extends to celebrities. In a recent interview with country singer Tracy Lawrence, Jackson, who DJs KIIM 99.5’s afternoon drive from 4-7 p.m. weekdays and is the station’s program director, subtly changed the subject when the singer mentioned he had met Innes.

In addition to Innes and Jackson, nominees for the 2007 CMA for Medium Market Personality are Wichita’s Dan Tooker in the Morning with Jon Watkins and Colby Ericson; Greenville, S.C.’s Ellis and Bradley in the Morning; and Knoxville’s WIVK at Night with Jack Ryan.

This is KIIM FM’s third national industry nomination in two years. The station was up for a 2007 ACM for best medium market station; it lost.

Jackson, a graduate of Syracuse University who has been with KIIM since 2001, said his nomination is the station’s first-ever CMA bid. The awards will be announced during a live ABC telecast from Nashville Nov. 7.

Jackson isn’t the only Tucson radio personality getting a little national recognition.

KRQQ morning show hosts “Johnjay and Rich” — Johnjay Van Es and Rich Berra — have been nominated by Radio & Records magazine as “Morning Show of the Year.”

This is the pair’s third consecutive nomination; they’ve never won the honor.

Those awards will be announced in late September.

Contact reporter Cathalena E. Burch at or 573-4642.