BYOBag Tucson Haiku winners announced

2013-11-15T14:15:00Z BYOBag Tucson Haiku winners announcedAlexis Huicochea Arizona Daily Star Arizona Daily Star

Eleven Tucson children have been named winners in the BYOBag Tucson Haiku Contest. 

The students, who range from first- to fifth-graders, were selected from more than 200 entries submitted. 

BYOBag Tucson is a volunteer group established to promote education about how Tucsonans can reduce, reuse and recycle the single-use plastic bags that become a source of litter in the city.

The winners are:


— First Place: Jala Hamzah of Roberts/Naylor K-8

— Second Place: Rose Wilson of Harelson Elementary

— Third Place: Juan Carlos Iniguez of Vesey Elementary


— First Place: Angel Orozco of Santa Cruz Catholic School

— Second Place: Dominic Murphy of Dunham Elementary

— Third Place: Michael Spacone of Sam Hughes Elementary


— First Place: Kennedy Kreinbrink of Henry Elementary

— Second Place: Michelle Serna of Soleng Tom Elementary

— Third Place: Max Alexander of Ironwood Elementary


— First Place: Nora Alexander of Ironwood Elementary


— First Place: Mark Joseph Nicholas of Coronado K-8

For more information on BYOBag Tucson, visit

Contact reporter Alexis Huicochea at or 573-4175. On Twitter @AlexisHuicochea​

Copyright 2015 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About this blog

Ed Notes includes stories and related items from all Tucson-area school districts written by Arizona Daily Star reporter Alexis Huicochea.

Have an education-related topic you would like to see on the blog or suggestions? Email Alexis Huicochea at

Featured businesses

View more...

Deals, offers & events

View more...