Courtesy of the Office of the Pima County School Superintendent

Nearly two dozen people have submitted paperwork in hopes of serving on a Pima County school board.

As of Friday afternoon, 22 candidates filed with the Office of the Pima County School Superintendent, which will continue to accept submissions until 5 p.m. Wednesday. Write-in candidates have until Aug. 20 to file.

The candidates are seeking seats in the following school districts:

Ajo Unified School District: Incumbents Lisa Rossi and Marcia Duncan

Altar Valley Elementary School District: Incumbent Chris Isabel

Catalina Foothills School District: Incumbent John Bergan and Amy Krauss

Continental Elementary School District: Incumbents Ralph Nickl and Sharon R. Niehaus

Flowing Wells Unified School District: Incumbent Gerald Long

Marana Unified School District: Incumbent John Lewandowski

Pima County JTED: Incumbent Alex Jácome

Redington Elementary School District: Incumbent Judith Dykes

Sahuarita Unified School District: Incumbent David Eves and Noah Sundberg

Tanque Verde Unified School District: Incumbents Claire Place and Steven Auslander

Tucson Unified School District: Incumbent Adelita Grijalva, Francis Saitta, Jen Darland and Don Cotton

Vail Unified School District: Incumbent Claudia Anderson, Anthony Sizer and Jon Aitken.

There are five other districts that have yet to receive any filings, including Amphitheater and Sunnyside.

Contact reporter Alexis Huicochea at or 573-4175. On Twitter @AlexisHuicochea​

Education writer for #ThisIsTucson. Mom of one.