3 Tucson students, teacher honored for innovation

2013-11-19T00:00:00Z 2013-11-19T00:26:55Z 3 Tucson students, teacher honored for innovationAlexis Huicochea Arizona Daily Star Arizona Daily Star

Three Tucson students and a local teacher were honored at the 2013 Governor’s Celebration of Innovation Awards.

The awards ceremony, held Nov. 14 in Phoenix, honors companies, academic centers of excellence, lawmakers and individuals that are impacting people’s lives through inspiration and innovation.

Andrew Lettes of Pueblo Magnet High School received honorable mention for the Teacher of the Year award.

Two students — Eric Epstein of Tucson High Magnet School and Shelby Yuan of University High School — were named Future Innovators of the Year Award winners. Each received a check for $1,500.

Epstein was recognized for his project: "Olfactory discrimination between regular and deuterated compounds in European honeybees.”

Yuan was recognized for her project: "Preparation of Magnetic Nanovesicles for Biomedical Applications.”

Kelsey Barter, a University High student, earned honorable mention in the same category for her project: "Targeting Survivin as a Potential Cancer Therapeutic.” Barter took home $500.

Contact reporter Alexis Huicochea at ahuicochea@azstarnet.com or 573-4175. On Twitter @AlexisHuicochea​

Copyright 2015 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About this blog

Ed Notes includes stories and related items from all Tucson-area school districts written by Arizona Daily Star reporter Alexis Huicochea.

Have an education-related topic you would like to see on the blog or suggestions? Email Alexis Huicochea at alexis@tucson.com

What's Hot

Featured businesses

View more...
Tucson.com newsletters

Sign up for Tucson.com e-mail newsletters

Sports news and blog headlines, delivered nightly.

Midmorning update of local business headlines, daily.

Tucson-area obituaries, daily.

Receive the current day's weather forecast in your email!