The Alpha Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Delta Kappa Gamma International Society for Key Women Educators saluted 15 Marana Unified School District educators at an April 5 award brunch.

The organization gave each teacher a certificate and school supplies, as well as a one-yera membership to supply shop Treasures 4 Teachers. 

“Being recognized as an outstanding early career educator in our community is a wonderful accomplishment," said Nancy Mahon, president Alpha Chapter-Delta Kappa Gamma, in a news release. “It is important that we continue to increase awareness of the value of public education and the vital role our teachers play in the social, emotional and educational development of our children.”

Honorees included Vanessa Sampson (Quail Run Elementary), Mary Kompe (Picture Rocks Intermediate), Kristin Robertson (Marana Middle School), Deborah Herrmann (Ironwood Elementary), Michele Wilcox (DeGrazia Elementary), Katherine Kent (Marana High School), Audra Brown (Estes Elementary), Billie Jo Lash (Roadrunner Elementary), Megan Hawkes (Tortolita Middle School), Megan Wilson (Coyote Trail Elementary), Lisa Rickel (Thornydale Elementary), Kristin Terpstra (Twin Peaks Elementary), Stephanie Lippert (MCAT High School), Maria Fallon (Butterfield Elementary) and DeAnna Furphy (Desert Winds Elementary).

Contact reporter Phil Villarreal at or 573-4130.