Marana Unified School District announces employees of the year

2013-05-16T15:00:00Z Marana Unified School District announces employees of the yearPhil Villarreal Arizona Daily Star Arizona Daily Star

The Marana Unified School District Governing Board selected the district's 2012-13 Teacher and Support Staff of the Year awards at a May 9 meeting.

Tawni Holland of Rattlesnake Ridge Elementary School was named Teacher of the Year. She provided after-school tutoring and served as Spelling Bee Coordinator and served as a mentor teacher for new hires.

Peggy Figueroa, a Marana High School child care aide, and Laurie Wright, School Leadership Office secretary, were Support Staff Employees of the Year. Figueroa cares for children of MUSD students, allowing them to attend school, while serving as a role model for the teen parents. Wright was praised for her organizational skills and quality customer service.

Copyright 2014 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About this blog

The Star's Northwest team, Tiffany Kjos and Phil Villarreal, write this blog, which focuses on all of northern Pima County, including Marana, Picture Rocks, Avra Valley, Oro Valley and Catalina; and SaddleBrooke in Pinal County. They welcome contributions via email at

Most Popular

Deals, offers & events

View more...