Several high school seniors from northwest side schools were named National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists.

The students, who earned top scores on the 2012 Preliminary SAT or National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, are in contention for for 8,000 scholarships totaling about $35 million, as well as the Merit Scholar distinction. Winners will be announced in April, following a February culling of the semifinalists to finalists.

Here are semifinalists from nearby schools: 

Basis Charter Schools: Gabrielle Allenbeck, Exene Anderson, Naomi Boldt, Adwoa Buadu, Carly Fife, Marcus Jacobs, Samantha Koenig, Ruijia Li, Craig Nielsen, Jacob Pearcy, Madeline Pickens, Tristan Schrader, Luke Wohlford and Annika Zhang.

Canyon del Oro High School: Evan Cramb, Rebecca Gosla, Abigail O’Conner and Jacob Stockton.

Ironwood Ridge High School: Julia Finfrock, Leo Hamerlynck, Scott Mahan and Haley Petersen.

Amphitheater High School: Thomas Budinger.

Mountain View High School: John Reynolds.

Pusch Ridge Christian Academy: Delaney Halvey.

Contact reporter Phil Villarreal at or 573-4130.