Oro Valley Police Department logo

Courtesy OVPD

The Oro Valley Police Department handed out awards to its best and brightest at its 2014 Awards Banquet April 25.

Winners included:

* Life Saving Award, for saving lives in the line of duty —   Marshall Morris, Kristofer Knapp, Donald Topar and Brian Carr.

* Chief of Police Unit Commendation, for teamwork and distinguished performance — Dean Nesbitt, Buddy Novak, Wes Helvig, Megan Carr, Deren Jackson, Mike Cruce and Zach Young.

* Medal of Merit, for displaying gallantry in the face of risk — Rick Trevizo and Brian Kleinberg.

* Officers of the Year, for accomplishments that set officers apart from peers — Jeff Thomas (for 2012 efforts), Matthew Roth (for 2013 efforts).

* Volunteer of the Year, for contributions that set volunteers apart from peers — John Hickey.

* Citzen of the Year, for supporting the department and its efforts — Stan Winetrobe.

* Explorer of the Year, for making contributions that set Explorers apart from their peers — Mason Solberg.

* Medal of Valor, for gallantry in the face of risk during specific police missions while battling criminal activity — Steve Sickelbower, Jason Horetski, Mike Warren, Robert Lolmaugh, Tim Baldwin, Matthew Roth, Travis Boyka, Jeff Douglas, Jacob Taylor and Andrea Keena.

Contact reporter Phil Villarreal at pvillarreal@azstarnet.com or 573-4130.