Forty-five people filed paperwork with the Pima County School Superintendent in hopes of winning one of 35 open school board seats in November.

Governing board members make decisions and plan direction for school districts with a focus on providing the best education possible for children.

Responsibilities include hiring and evaluating district superintendents, providing guidance in the development of, and approving district budgets, and establishing and approving district policies.

The candidates are seeking seats in the following school districts:

  • Ajo Unified School District: Lorenzo Morales, and incumbents Lisa Rossi and Marcia Duncan
  • Altar Valley Elementary School District: Incumbent Chris Isabel
  • Amphitheater Unified School District: Incumbent Jo Grant, Scott Leska and Mick Stewart
  • Baboquivari Unified School District: Incumbents Sara M. Williams, Sylvia Hendricks and Verlon
  • Jose
  • Catalina Foothills School District: Incumbent John Bergan, Amy Bhola and Amy Krauss
  • Continental Elementary School District: Sergio Arellano, and incumbents Ralph Nickl and Sharon R. Niehaus
  • Empire Elementary School District: One seat available. No candidates.
  • Flowing Wells Unified School District: Incumbents Gerald Long and Kevin C. Daily
  • Marana Unified School District: Incumbents John Lewandowski and Tom Carlson
  • Pima County JTED: Incumbent Alex Jácome and Cindy Rankin Elliott
  • Redington Elementary School District: Incumbent Judith Dykes
  • Sahuarita Unified School District: Noah Sundberg, John Sparks, and incumbents David Eves and Tom Murphy
  • San Fernando Elementary School District: Incumbent Roy Isaman
  • Sunnyside Unified School District: Malcom Pavey and incumbents Eva Carrillo Dong and Daniel Hernandez Jr.
  • Tanque Verde
  • Unified
  • School District: Incumbents Claire Place and Steven
  • Auslander
  • Tucson Unified School District: Rene Bernal, Betts
  • Putnam-Hidalgo, Debe Campos-Fleenor, Miguel
  • Cuevas, Francis Saitta, Jen
  • Darland, Don Cotton, and incumbents Adelita
  • Grijalva and Michael Hicks
  • Vail Unified School District: Incumbent Claudia
  • Anderson, Anthony
  • Sizer and Jon
  • Aitken.

The filing deadline was Wednesday, although write-in candidates have until Aug. 20.

Should no write-in candidates come forward for the Empire Elementary School District seat, that election will be canceled and the County School Superintendent is required to fill the vacancy.

Contact reporter Alexis Huicochea at or 573-4175. On Twitter @AlexisHuicochea

Education writer for #ThisIsTucson. Mom of one.