Education news logo

The Sunnyside Unified School District announced the winners of its Pride of Sunnyside and Star Teacher campaign, which honors outstanding employees of each school and district office.

Each school nominated one teacher to be chosen as Star Teacher and one out-of-classroom employee as Pride of Sunnyside.

The following people will be honored at an event at 7:30 a.m. Aug. 24 at Desert View High School, 4101 E. Valencia Road:

  • Apollo Middle: Alfred Tapia (Pride), Theresa Gosalves (Star Teacher)
  • Challenger Middle: Rene Rodriguez, Jr. (Pride), Peter J. Giaccone, Jr. (Star Teacher)
  • Craycroft Elementary: Yolanda Garcia (Pride), Isabel Martinez (Star Teacher)
  • Desert View High: Martin Montaño (Pride), Christopher Harris (Star Teacher)
  • Drexel Elementary: Pamela Orona (Pride), Nova Lord (Star Teacher)
  • Elvira Elementary:Xavier Badilla (Pride), Teresa Barbour (Star Teacher)
  • Esperanza Elementary: Lizette Muñoz (Pride), Tori Steptoe (Star Teacher)
  • Gallego Primary: Edith L. Corrales (Pride), Joseph Felix (Star Teacher)
  • Gallego Intermediate: Raul Garcia (Pride), Jessica Ross (Star Teacher)
  • Lauffer middle: Billy Denson (Pride), Justin Powell (Star Teacher)
  • Liberty Elementary: Jeannette G. Heavener (Pride), Natalie A. Newsome (Star Teacher)
  • Los Amigos: Erica Moreno (Pride), Edna C. Araujo (Star Teacher)
  • Los Niños: Yvette Gallegos (Pride), Dominic Evans (Star Teacher)
  • Mission Manor Elementary: Josie Olivas (Pride), Cathy Molina (Star Teacher)
  • Ocotillo Early Learning Center: Rose Ayup (Pride), Jeanne Greengaard (Star Teacher)
  • Rivera Elementary: Julio Nino (Pride), Heather Oakland (Star Teacher)
  • Santa Clara Elementary: Maria Barba (Pride), Rachel Fernandez (Star Teacher)
  • Sierra 2-8: Lauren Peralta (Pride), Richard L. Zamorano (Star Teacher)
  • STAR Academic Center: Maribeth Valencia (Pride), Jenny Neill (Star Teacher)
  • Summit View Elementary: Myriam Valencia Brito (Pride), Crystal Woltman (Star Teacher)
  • Sunnyside High: Kate Street (Pride), Steven M. Uyeda (Star Teacher)
  • District office: Eleanor R. Lopez, Bobby Calderon, Francisco Javier Flores, Delena Corral

Teacher, student attend NASA camp

A Tohono O’odham Nation teacher won a grant to take her student to a NASA space camp.

Martha Rogers, a gifted and talented class teacher at San Simon School, a Bureau of Indian Education school on the reservation, took eighth-grader Mendrel Fayuant to Huntsville, Alabama, in late July.

At the space camp, the student and teacher learned about science, technology, engineering and math applications in real life.

Student visits Russia for cultural program

A Tucson student returned home from Russia after participating in a State Department-sponsored program.

Anna Cohen was one of 14 American students who took part in the National Security Initiative for Youth Russian Language and Culture Program.

The program offers full scholarships to high-achieving high school students so they can learn less commonly-taught languages in the summer and participate in an overseas immersion program.

Safford School earns engagement award

Safford K-8 Magnet School was recognized as one of the schools of distinctions for its dedication to high quality civic engagement.

Thirty-two schools across Arizona were chosen by state schools chief Diane Douglas as the 2015-2016 civic engagement schools based on the schools’ efforts to ensure that their students are well-informed and engaged citizens.

There are three levels of recognition: schools of excellence, schools of distinction and schools of merit. No other Tucson-area school was chosen.