Rotary club awards 10 Tucson students $1,000-scholarships

2012-08-05T12:05:00Z 2012-08-10T10:10:53Z Rotary club awards 10 Tucson students $1,000-scholarships Arizona Daily Star
August 05, 2012 12:05 pm

Ten Tucson-area students were awarded a total of $10,000 in scholarship money by the Rincon Rotary Club.

Each year, the club’s scholarship program honors students who have demonstrated positive citizenship, superior leadership, solid achievement in academics, and a strong motivation to community service.

Taking home scholarships, which are worth $1,000 each, are:

Justine Baccus of Sahuarita High School; Zayna Green and Helen Jones of University High School; Miguel Marquez of Marana High School; Marcos A. Moreno of Pueblo Magnet High School; Athena Roesler of St. Gregory College Preparatory School; Brittney Schneider of Sahuaro High School; Kristina Simpson of Tucson High Magnet School; Nesta Wicklund of Ironwood Hills Christian School; and Yuming Zhao of Canyon del Oro High School.

Eight of the scholarships were donated by the Rincon Rotary Foundation and two were donated in honor of a former Rincon Rotarian, Dr. David Jacoby, by his wife Amber Jacoby and his colleagues at Tucson Dermatology.

Copyright 2016 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.