The TUSD Governing Board will vote tonight on the closure of as many as 14 schools.

The board's meeting will be held in the Catalina Magnet High School auditorium, 3645 E. Pima Street, at 6:30 p.m.

The schools being considered for closure are: Brichta, Corbett, Cragin, Lyons, Manzo, Menlo Park, Schumaker and Sewell elementary schools; Carson, Hohokam, Maxwell and Wakefield middle schools; Fort Lowell/Townsend K-8; and Howenstine High School.

The closures have been proposed as part of the Tucson Unified School District's effort to close a $17 million budget shortfall.

However, other measures also will have to be undertaken to cut costs because even if the district closed all the schools under consideration, the total savings would only amount to about $5 million in the first year and $5.6 million in future years.

Other options to balance the budget could include program and staff reductions, central office and administration reductions and benefit adjustments.

The closures will be voted on individually. If approved, changes would not take effect until the 2012-2013 school year.

On StarNet: Find more education and TUSD news and resources at education

Contact reporter Alexis Huicochea at or 573-4175.