The Music on the Mountain finale on Saturday will feature “The E-Dogs,” the electric version of The Sonoran Dogs.

Bob Block

Saturday’s Music on the Mountain season finale will feature the seven-piece electric version of The Sonoran Dogs, affectionately known as “The E-Dogs.”

The Sonoran Dogs play a collection of traditional bluegrass standards, new-grass and original compositions.

The show will begin at 12:30 p.m. on Mount Lemmon.

The four regular members of The Sonoran Dogs are Mark Miracle on mandolin, Peter McLaughlin on guitar, Tyler James on banjo and Dr. Brian Davies on bass.

Miracle, who lives in Phoenix, plays with McLaughlin in X-Train, an internationally touring bluegrass band.

Winner of the 1988 National Flatpicking Competition, McLaughlin has toured with Laurie Lewis and Grant Street.

Davies, a Tucson dentist, worked as a Hollywood side musician, playing guitar and electric bass during the punk/new wave/metal era before moving to Tucson and playing with a variety of zydeco, rock, folk and bluegrass musicians.

Joining the four regular Sonoran Dogs are Larry Cobb on drums, Neil Harry on pedal steel and Alvin Blaine on electric guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, Dobro, banjo and accordion.

Both Cobb and Harry have been inducted into the Tucson Musicians’ Museum, and McLaughlin will be inducted this Sunday, along with his cohorts from other bands, Bob Meighan and John Coinman. The induction ceremony will be held at the Leo Rich Theater.

More information about the induction ceremony can be found at online.

Music on the Mountain is presented by Chuck “Wagon” Maultsby and sponsored by Mesquite Homes and the Sawmill Run Restaurant.

To submit a story go to online.