The first badge of the Pima County Sheriff's Department, 1865.

Courtesy of Pima County Sheriff's Department

1825: Jose Leon is appointed the first civilian mayor of Tucson, which had a population of fewer than 400 people. (from "The book of Tucson lists" by Larry Cox)

1865: (Berry) Hill deArmitt is appointed the first Pima County Sheriff of the Arizona Territory. The population of Pima County was 2,377 people, at the time. Since there were no jails in the county, a guardhouse located on the southwest corner of what is now the 1928 Courthouse was used to house prisoners. From records of the period, whipping, fine or imprisonment at Fort Yuma were the only punishments available to the first sheriff.

1877: The 9th Territorial Legislature, the last one to meet in Tucson, convenes.

1880: Milton McDowell becomes Pima County's first lawman killed in the line of duty when he is shot at Charleston.

1909: Birth date of Barry Goldwater, grandson of Arizona pioneers, author, U.S. senator and presidential candidate. He died in 1998.

1911: A dozen drivers — or scorchers as they were called — partake in Tucson's first organized automobile race, which began and ended on Speedway. The cars raced at speeds exceeding 40 miles per hour toward a total of $100 in prizes. (from "The book of Tucson firsts" by Larry Cox)

1915: Arizona bans alcohol sales and consumption.

1921: A damage suit is brought against the Arizona Eastern Railroad alleging negligence. According to the complaint, 34 ostriches died or were killed in transit.

1927: The first seven in a series of 50 earthquake shocks occurs. The shocks last three days and cause extensive damage in areas of Arizona, California and Mexico.

Want to share an important event from Tucson's history? Email it to