Tucson-area National Merit semifinalists named

2013-09-13T00:00:00Z 2013-09-13T17:47:06Z Tucson-area National Merit semifinalists namedBy Mariana Dale For the Arizona Daily Star Arizona Daily Star
September 13, 2013 12:00 am  • 

Fifty-eight students from Tucson, Oro Valley and Vail were named National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists.

The high school seniors can now compete for 8,000 scholarships totaling about $35 million, and the title of Merit Scholar. Finalists will be announced in February, and winners will be notified beginning in April.

Students from each state with the highest scores on their 2012 Preliminary SAT or National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test were selected to participate.

The local semifinalists are:

Basis Charter Schools: Gabrielle Allenbeck, Exene Anderson, Naomi Boldt, Adwoa Buadu, Carly Fife, Marcus Jacobs, Samantha Koenig, Ruijia Li, Craig Nielsen, Jacob Pearcy, Madeline Pickens, Tristan Schrader, Luke Wohlford and Annika Zhang.

Canyon del Oro High School: Evan Cramb, Rebecca Gosla, Abigail O’Conner and Jacob Stockton.

Ironwood Ridge High School: Julia Finfrock, Leo Hamerlynck, Scott Mahan and Haley Petersen.

Amphitheater High School: Thomas Budinger.

Catalina Foothills High School: Zacha Cohen, Kali Cornn, Reena Debray, Ryan Dunbar, Julia Ni, Zachary Paul, Elijah Pivo and Jessica Todsen.

Mountain View High School: John Reynolds.

Pusch Ridge Christian Academy: Delaney Halvey.

Sabino High School: Teresa Carmichael and Graham Place.

Salpointe Catholic High School: Rebecca Friedman Sweet.

St. Gregory College Preparatory School: Peter Chipman and Grant Ross.

Tucson Magnet High School: Connie Tran.

University High School: Matthew Andrews, Kelsey Barter, Adrienne Berring, Matthew Bryson, Charley Chen, Leonard Fines, Jesus Jacquez, Henry Lei, Catherine Liu, Stephanie Liu, Whitney Pan, Emily Rumney, Natalie Scibilia, Caroline Snyder and Shuoyang Sun.

Cienega High School: Garrett Anderson, Bryan Samuelsen, Ana Trifonova.

Home school: William George.

The 58 Tucson-area students who qualified join a pool of 16,000 semifinalists across the country.

Mariana Dale is a University of Arizona journalism student who is an apprentice at the Star. Contact her at starapprentice@azstarnet.com

Copyright 2014 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Follow the Arizona Daily Star

Featured businesses

View more...

Deals, offers & events

View more...

$15.99 Oil Change Special!

K&D Quality Auto is offering $15.99 conventional 10w30 oi…

Get weekly ads via e-mail