Two students from Baboquivari High School, four from Tucson High Magnet School and one from University High School were selected to automatically advance to the international competition at the conclusion of the Southern Arizona Research, Science and Engineering Fair Friday.

Jacquel Rivers and Arne Joi Nipales were the two Baboquivari students who qualified for the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair to be held in Phoenix in May.

That fair, organized by the Society for Science & the Public, will host 1,500 students from at least 70 countries and will award $3 million in prizes.

Nipales and Rivers, both seniors, are making their second trip to the international finals with a revamped version of last year's project: "Total Solar Strategy For The Tohono O'odham Nation,"

Ryan Silva will represent University High School with his project, "A Model of Medial Entorhinal Cortex Grid Cell Remapping."

Tucson High Magnet School qualified four student projects:

• Meagan Bethel: "Analysis of Critical Habitat for the Sonoran Ocelot (leopardus Paradalis Sonoriensis) in the Sky Island Region."

• Allison Kath: "Motivational Interviewing as a Form of Stress Relief in Adolescents."

• Eric Epstein: "Olfactory Discrimination Between Regular and Deuterated Compounds in European Honeybees."

• Ostin Zarse: "Improved Viability of Photovoltaic Solar Cells."

The annual fair had nearly 1,800 submissions from more than 6,000 students in 86 schools across Southern Arizona.

Awards were also given to the top schools and top science teachers in the region:

High school honors were a tie between Tucson High Magnet School and University High School, both in the Tucson Unified School District. Margaret Wilch of Tucson High Magnet was top teacher.

TUSD's Doolen Middle School took the middle-school honors, and Colleen Page of Immaculate Heart School was top teacher.

Richard B. Wilson School, in the Amphitheater School District, took elementary school honors, and Julie Formo of Mammoth Elementary School in Mammoth was top teacher.

On StarNet: See a complete list of winners by school at