Arizona Senate OKs new rules on when divorced parent can move

2013-03-18T16:01:00Z 2013-03-18T16:05:41Z Arizona Senate OKs new rules on when divorced parent can moveCapitol Media Services Arizona Daily Star
March 18, 2013 4:01 pm  • 

The Senate voted 17-12, with all Democrats opposed, to impose new rules on when a divorced parent can move.

Current law allows a custodial parent to move up to 100 miles without permission of the former spouse. SB 1072 would require the parent to provide notice to the former spouse for any move, no matter how many -- or few -- additional miles away that would place the child, and give the other parent a chance to object and potentially trigger a court hearing.

Sen. Nancy Barto, R-Phoenix, agreed to language which says that notice is necessary only when there will be ``material changes of circumstances affecting the best interests of the child.'' And the measure says any move of less than two miles is presumed not to affect those interests, though there are exceptions.

Sen. Anna Tovar, R-Tolleson, said the legislation fails to take into account the interests of a parent who is the victim of domestic violence and needs to move quickly. And Sen. Linda Lopez, D-Tucson, complained of technical hurdles that would be created if a landlord gives a parent 30 days to vacate an apartment but it can take six months to get judicial approval.

The House now takes up the measure.

Copyright 2014 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Activate

Follow the Arizona Daily Star

Featured businesses

View more...

Deals, offers & events

View more...

HDS Inc. NOW HIRING

Hiring event December 10th at our office.  We will be hiring f…

Event Calendar

Today's events | Add an event

Most viewed: