NEW YORK - For the first time in 16 years, the Baltimore Orioles will have three elected starters in baseball's annual All-Star Game and will have a total of four on the American League team for the first time since 2005.

First baseman Chris Davis, shortstop J.J. Hardy - a Tucson native and Sabino High School graduate - and center fielder Adam Jones were all elected by the fans for their first times in their careers and will start the annual exhibition, which will be July 16 at Citi Field in New York.

Orioles third baseman Manny Machado, who turned 21 Saturday, was named as a reserve.

Two Arizona Diamondbacks, pitcher Patrick Corbin and first baseman Paul Goldschmidt, will represent the club on the National League team. Cincinnati's Joey Votto edged Goldschmidt, the Diamondbacks' budding star, in fan voting. Corbin is 9-1 this season with a 2.49 ERA.

The Orioles, who fell to third place in the American League East with a loss to the Yankees on Saturday, have not had three starters since third baseman Cal Ripken Jr., outfielder Brady Anderson and second baseman Roberto Alomar were elected in 1997. The last time they had an elected starter was in 2005, when both Miguel Tejada and Brian Roberts earned nods from the fans.

All-Star Game rosters / B9