men's Tournaments: Wisconsin upsets Indiana in semis

2013-03-17T00:00:00Z men's Tournaments: Wisconsin upsets Indiana in semisThe Associated Press The Associated Press
March 17, 2013 12:00 am  • 

CHICAGO - Ryan Evans scored 16 points to help No. 22 Wisconsin upset No. 3 Indiana 68-56 in the semifinals of the Big Ten tournament Saturday.

The Badgers allowed only seven points after the top-seeded Hoosiers pulled within one with 9:45 left. They earned their 12th consecutive win against Indiana, tying a record for any school against the powerhouse program, and will play Ohio State in today's final.

• No. 10 Ohio State 61, No. 8 Michigan State 58: In Chicago, Aaron Craft came on strong in the second half to finish with 20 points and lead Ohio State to the Big Ten tournament final.

Big East

• No. 4 Louisville 78, No. 19 Syracuse 61: In New York, Peyton Siva had 11 points and eight assists to lead Louisville to its second straight Big East tournament title. The Cardinals got their third title by overcoming a 16-point deficit in the second half.


• No. 9 Miami 81, N.C. State 71: In Greensboro, N.C., Durand Scott scored a career-high 32 points to help Miami earn its first trip to the ACC tourney title game.

• North Carolina 79, Maryland 76: In Greensboro, N.C., Dexter Strickland and Reggie Bullock scored 15 points apiece and North Carolina held on to beat Maryland in an ACC semifinal.


• No. 13 Florida 61, Alabama 51: In Nashville, Tenn., Kenny Boynton scored 11 straight points during a 15-0 second-half run as Florida rallied from 10 points down to advance to the SEC tournament title game.

• Mississippi 64, Vanderbilt 52: In Nashville, Tenn., Marshall Henderson scored 23 points as the Rebels moved just one win away from making sure their NCAA tournament berth is automatic.

Atlantic 10

• No. 16 Saint Louis 67, Butler 56: In New York, Dwayne Evans nearly set a career high in points for the second straight game, and Saint Louis' defense locked down Butler in the second half to advance to its first Atlantic 10 title game.

• No. 25 VCU 71, UMass 62: In New York, Troy Daniels made six three-pointers to score 20 points, and VCU advanced to the A10 tournament title game in its first season in the conference.

Other title games

• No. 20 Memphis 91, Southern Miss 79, 2OT: In Tulsa, Okla., Chris Crawford scored 23 points, including the go-ahead three-pointer in the second overtime, lifting Memphis to its seventh tournament title in eight years.

• Montana 67, Weber St. 64: In Missoula, Mont., Kareem Jamar scored 20 points, Will Cherry had 18 and Montana held off Weber State to win the Big Sky tournament title for the second consecutive year.

• Pacific 64, UC Irvine 55: In Anaheim, Calif., reserve Tony Gill scored 19 points, Lorenzo McCloud added 16 and the Pacific held off a second-half surge by UC Irvine to win the Big West tournament championship.

• New Mexico St. 64, Texas-Arlington 55: In Las Vegas, Sim Bhullar had 16 points, 15 rebounds and five blocked shots to lead New Mexico State to its second straight Western Athletic Conference championship.

Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Latest scores and more from all sports

MLB:  News | Scoreboard NFL:  News | Scoreboard NBA:  News | Scoreboard
NHL:  News | Scoreboard NCAA FB:  News | Scoreboard NCAA BK:  News | Scoreboard
Golf:  News | Leaderboard Auto Racing:  News | Results Tennis:  News | Scoreboard
Other: MLS  |  Womens NCAA BK  |  WNBA  |  CFL  |  Minor League Baseball  |  NFL Draft  |  NBA Draft