Arizona Wildcats football: Carey and Fischer land on preseason award watch lists

2013-07-08T10:44:00Z 2013-08-23T01:15:19Z Arizona Wildcats football: Carey and Fischer land on preseason award watch listsDaniel Berk Arizona Daily Star Arizona Daily Star
July 08, 2013 10:44 am  • 

Arizona Wildcats running back Ka'Deem Carey and linebacker Jake Fischer received some preseason love this morning.

Carey, who led the nation in rushing last season with 1,929 yards, was named to the Maxwell Player of the Year Award Watch List. A total of 76 players were named to the list. Carey was one of 28 running backs.

The Maxwell Award is handed out at the end of the year to the top player in college football. Semifinalists for the award will be named on Oct. 29 and the three finalists will be named on Nov. 18. The winner will be revealed on Dec. 12.

Carey was the only UA player to be included on the list and one of 15 Pac-12 players to be recognized. His inclusion is certainly no surprise. Carey, of course, broke Trung Candidate's single-season school-record rushing mark of 1,602 yards last season and added 23 rushing touchdowns. 

Fischer was one of 75 players and 25 linebackers named to the Bednarik Award Watch List. The Bednarik Award is given annually to the top defensive player in college football. 

The Ironwood Ridge High School product started all 13 games at middle linebacker last season for the Wildcats and led the team with 119 tackles. He also had 6 1/2 tackles for loss and four fumble recoveries. He was one of 13 Pac-12 defenders named to the list.

Carey, Fischer and the rest of the Wildcats begin their season Aug. 30 against NAU.

Copyright 2015 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About this blog

Daniel Berk began covering UA football in 2013 after spending two-plus years as the Star's high school sports coordinator. Previously, he served as the sports editor and NAU beat writer for the Arizona Daily Sun in Flagstaff for three years.

A University of Kansas graduate and St. Louis native, Berk is still getting used to 350 days of sunshine, the relentless "dry heat" of the summer and the fact that Tucson doesn't have a real hockey rink.

Contact Daniel at or by calling 573-4330. Follow him on Twitter @DSBerk.

What's Hot

Follow the Arizona Daily Star