Arizona Wildcats football: Carey finishes 10th in Heisman voting

2013-12-14T19:12:00Z Arizona Wildcats football: Carey finishes 10th in Heisman votingDaniel Berk Arizona Daily Star Arizona Daily Star

Ka'Deem Carey made a little more Arizona football history tonight.

Though it wasn't the finish he was hoping for, Carey ended up 10th in the Heisman Trophy voting, becoming the first UA player to ever finish in the top ten. 

Carey received two first-place votes, 14 second-place votes and 36 third-place votes.

The order of finish was:

1. Jameis Winston, Florida State

2. A.J. McCarron, Alabama

3. Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

4. Andre Williams, Boston College

5. Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

6. Tre Mason, Auburn

7. Bryce Petty, Baylor

8. Derek Carr, Fresno State

9. Braxton Miller, Ohio State

10. Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona

Carey said this week it "meant a lot" to him that he wasn't one of the six players invited to New York City for the Heisman presentation and that the "snub" could impact his decision to return for his senior season or not.

Carey wasn't the only Pac-12 player overlooked. Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota was left out of the top ten all together, despite throwing for 3,412 yards, 30 TDs and 4 INTs on the season. 

Copyright 2016 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Latest scores and more from all sports

MLB:  News | Scoreboard NFL:  News | Scoreboard NBA:  News | Scoreboard
NHL:  News | Scoreboard NCAA FB:  News | Scoreboard NCAA BK:  News | Scoreboard
Golf:  News | Leaderboard Auto Racing:  News | Results Tennis:  News | Scoreboard
Other: MLS  |  Womens NCAA BK  |  WNBA  |  CFL  |  Minor League Baseball  |  NFL Draft  |  NBA Draft