Arizona Wildcats football: Carey named Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year

2013-12-02T11:45:00Z 2013-12-02T12:50:08Z Arizona Wildcats football: Carey named Pac-12 Offensive Player of the YearDaniel Berk Arizona Daily Star Arizona Daily Star
December 02, 2013 11:45 am  • 

Ka’Deem Carey has made all kinds of history this season for the Arizona Wildcats.

He just made a little more.

Carey was named the Pac-12’s Offensive Player of the Year today by the league’s coaches. He’s the first UA player to ever win the conference award.

The running back was also named Pac-12 first-team for the second straight year. He was the only unanimous selection on either side of the ball this season.

Carey is the first running back to win the award since Stanford’s Toby Gerhart in 2009.

Arizona has had seven players (Ricky Hunley, Byron Evans, Chuck Cecil, Dana Wells, Darryll Lewis, Rob Waldrop and Tedy Bruschi) win the conference Defensive Player of the Year award in the program’s history, but never an offensive player. Receiver Mike Thomas was the Freshman Offensive Player of the Year in 2005. 

Carey — despite missing the first game of the season against NAU because of a suspension — rushed for 1,716 yards and 17 touchdowns in 11 games.

The running back, who is a finalist for the Doak Walker Award, broke Trung Canidate’s school record for career rushing yards this season and has 4,070 with a bowl game to play this season.

Carey, who has 50 career scores, also broke the career touchdown record.

The Canyon del Oro High School product is second in the country in rushing yards per game at 156 and has gone over 100 yards in 15 straight games, which is the longest streak by an FBS running back in the past decade.

The UA didn’t place any other players on the first or second teams. Receiver Nate Phillips, linebackers Marquis Flowers and Scooby Wright, nose tackle Tevin Hood and safety Jared Tevis were all named honorable mention. 

Arizona State's Todd Graham was named the Coach of the Year and Sun Devils defensive tackle Will Sutton earned Defensive Player of the Year honors. UCLA's Myles Jack was named the Freshman Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year. 

Copyright 2015 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About this blog

Daniel Berk began covering UA football in 2013 after spending two-plus years as the Star's high school sports coordinator. Previously, he served as the sports editor and NAU beat writer for the Arizona Daily Sun in Flagstaff for three years.

A University of Kansas graduate and St. Louis native, Berk is still getting used to 350 days of sunshine, the relentless "dry heat" of the summer and the fact that Tucson doesn't have a real hockey rink.

Contact Daniel at or by calling 573-4330. Follow him on Twitter @DSBerk.

What's Hot

Follow the Arizona Daily Star

Featured businesses

View more...