NEW YORK - Johnny Manziel and Manti Te'o are in position to make Heisman Trophy history.

Manziel, the redshirt freshman quarterback from Texas A&M, and Te'o, Notre Dame's star linebacker, along with Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, were invited Monday to attend the Heisman presentation ceremony.

Manziel is the favorite for college football's most famous player of the year award on Saturday night in Manhattan. He would be the first freshman to win the Heisman and the first Aggie since halfback John David Crow won the school's only Heisman in 1957.

Te'o would be the first defense-only player to win a Heisman and the eighth player from Notre Dame (Tim Brown won it last in 1987).

Te'o also won the Butkus Award as the nation's top linebacker and the Bronko Nagurski Award as the top defensive player on Monday.

Klein, who Monday won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award as the nation's top upperclassman QB, would be the first player from Kansas State to win the Heisman.

Manziel, a redshirt freshman known as "Johnny Football," passed for 3,419 yards and 24 TDs, rushed for 1,181 yards and 19 TDs and was named the SEC offensive player of the year on Monday.

Extra points

• Louisiana Tech AD Bruce Van De Velde said he won't get in a bidding war with Cal for coach Sonny Dykes, an ex-UA assistant.

• Idaho hired Arkansas offensive coordinator Paul Petrino as its new head coach on Monday.

• Coach Steve Spurrier received a two-year contract extension that will keep him at South Carolina through 2017 at $3.3 million a year.

• Penn State quarterback Matt McGloin won the Burlsworth Award, given to the top player who began his career as a walk-on.

• Michigan junior fullback Stephen Hopkins left the team.

• Former Kentucky coach Joker Phillips joined Florida as receivers coach and recruiting coordinator.

• Missouri offensive coordinator David Yost resigned Monday, citing personal reasons.

• An anonymous alumnus donated money to cut the price of BCS title game tickets to Notre Dame students from $300 to $150.