Former UA defensive star Tedy Bruschi became the fourth Wildcat inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday in New York. He was an All-American in 1994 and ‘95.

Jin Lee / the associated press

With old teammates in the audience, former Arizona defensive star Tedy Bruschi became the fourth Wildcat inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday night at New York’s Waldorf-Astoria Hotel.

Bruschi, 40, was one of 12 former players inducted by the National Football Foundation, including Heisman Trophy winners Vinny Testaverde (Miami), Danny Wuerffel (Florida State) and Ron Dayne (Wisconsin).

Others were Tommy Fraizer (Nebraska), Ted Brown (N.C. State), Jerry Gray (Texas), Steve Meilinger (Kentucky), Rod Shoate (Oklahoma), Don Trull (Baylor), Percy Snow (Michigan State) and Orlando Pace (Ohio State). Coaches Wayne Hardin (Temple) and Bill McCartney (Colorado) also were inducted.

“I thank of all my teammates being here, so many guys who helped me rush the passer because that’s basically all I did in college,” Bruschi said. “It was ... really the true essence of football, lining up across a guy that was as twice as big as me and twice as strong and finding some way to get past him to sack the guy with the ball.”

Bruschi joined former Wildcats Ricky Hunley (1998), Chuck Cecil (2009) and Rob Waldrop (2011) in the Hall of Fame, along with former UA coaches Warren Woodson (1989), Jim Young (1999) and Darrell Mudra (2000).

As a key member of the UA’s Desert Swarm defense, which led the nation in rushing defense in 1993 and scoring defense in 1992, Bruschi helped the Wildcats achieve their first 10-win season as they beat Miami 29-0 in the 1994 Fiesta Bowl in Tempe, where he was the game’s MVP.

Dick Tomey, my head coach, was so instrumental in me becoming a player,” said Bruschi, who had 52 career sacks, tied for the most in NCAA history.

He was an All-American in 1994 and 1995 and played 13 years in the NFL, winning three Super Bowls with the New England Patriots.

Only Stanford has made BCS bowl in last 4 years

STANFORD, Calif. —No. 5 Stanford (11-2) is the only program to make a BCS bowl the last four years.

The twice-reigning Pac-12 champions, who also are the only team to win at least 11 games in each of those years, will go for a second straight Rose Bowl victory when they face No. 4 Michigan State (12-1) on Jan. 1.

The remarkable run has been led by nine fifth-year seniors — Shayne Skov and fellow linebackers Trent Murphy and Jarek Lancaster, defensive ends Ben Gardner and Josh Mauro, fullback Ryan Hewitt, right guard Kevin Danser, center Khalil Wilkes and running back Tyler Gaffney— who will forever be among those credited with turning the program into a powerhouse.

“There has not been a class like this in the history of the school,” Stanford coach David Shaw said. “It’s a testament to those guys, to come in and have their mind set on doing something that people said they couldn’t do. And every time a challenge came up, these guys wouldn’t back down. They ran straight at it. They locked arms and ran straight at it together.”

Texas AD: No decision yet on Brown’s future

AUSTIN, Texas — Texas Athletic Director Steve Patterson says no decision has been made about the future of Longhorns coach Mack Brown.

Texas released a statement by Patterson several hours after reported, citing two unidentified sources, that Brown will announce he is stepping down by week’s end.

“We continue to discuss the future of Texas Football,” Patterson said. “Mack Brown has not resigned. And, no decisions have been made.”

Spartans’ Narduzzi wins top aide award

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — Michigan State defensive coordinator Pat Narduzzi won the annual Broyles Award given to the top college assistant coach.

Narduzzi, in his seventh season for the fourth-ranked Spartans, was responsible for guiding a Michigan State defense that earned a spot in the Rose Bowl against No. 5 Stanford with a 34-24 win over Ohio State in the Big Ten Conference championship game.

Extra points

  • Alabama placed nine players on the coaches All-Southeastern Conference teams and LSU had eight.
  • Mississippi football coach
  • Hugh Freeze
  • has a new contract that includes a one-year extension through 2017 and a raise to $3 million per season.