College Football Notebook

2013-12-11T16:58:38Z 2013-12-11T20:14:04Z College Football NotebookThe Associated Press The Associated Press
December 11, 2013 4:58 pm  • 

GREENSBORO, N.C.— The Atlantic Coast Conference’s coaches have selected Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston as the league’s player of the year and Duke’s David Cutcliffe as the coach of the year.

The ACC announced the results of the coaches’ vote Wednesday, one week after the voting media selected its award winners.

Winston, a Heisman Trophy favorite, also was voted the league’s rookie of the year, the offensive player of the year and the first-team all-ACC quarterback by the coaches.

They picked Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald as the defensive player of the year and Virginia Tech cornerback Kendall Fuller as the defensive rookie of the year.

Winston and No. 1 Florida State beat Duke 45-7 in the league title game and will play No. 2 Auburn in the BCS title game.

Winston and Boston College running back Andre Williams — both Heisman finalists — each received the maximum 39 voting points in all-ACC team voting.

Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players and first-team votes were worth three points, second-team selections worth two and third-team picks worth one.

Extra points

  • Boise State has hired former player and offensive coordinator
  • Bryan Harsin
  • to be the Broncos next head coach.
  • Athletic Director
  • Mark Coyle
  • confirmed Wednesday he had lured Harsin back to Boise and away from Arkansas State, where Harsin served as head coach for just one season.
  • Southeastern Conference coaches have voted Auburn’s
  • Gus Malzahn
  • coach of the year, and picked his star tailback
  • Tre Mason
  • as the top offensive player.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow the Arizona Daily Star

Featured businesses

View more...

Deals, offers & events

View more...