DETROIT - Cam Atkinson scored twice; John Muse made 20 saves, and Boston College won the NCAA hockey championship for the second time in three years with a 5-0 victory against Wisconsin on Saturday night.

The Eagles scored four times in the third period, and Atkinson and Chris Kreider hit the net 2:02 apart early in the period. Atkinson scored again midway through the period.

A world indoor attendance record was set for hockey with a crowd of 37,592 at the home of the NFL's Detroit Lions.

Boston College won its fourth title and third since 2001 - best in the nation over the last 10 years.

Wisconsin beat the Eagles in the 2006 finals for its sixth title, but didn't have much of a shot to stop Boston College's faster forwards, swarming defensemen and stellar goaltender.

Muse improved to 8-0 in the NCAA tournament, including his perfect run in 2008.

"I don't know if it's so much me or my whole team," he said.

For Eagles coach Jerry York, the national title was his fourth, including one with Bowling Green. Only two coaches have more championships - Michigan's Vic Heyliger won six from 1948-56 and Denver's Murray Armstrong won five from 1958-1969 - and York holds the record with 33 NCAA tournament wins.

"He's a great coach," Muse said. "I wouldn't want to play for anyone else."

Badgers forward Blake Geoffrion was shut down a day after winning the Hobey Baker Award as college hockey's top player. Geoffrion scored 28 goals this season to help Wisconsin enter the game with a nation-high 171 goals.

BC 5