Cory Chitwood and the Arizona men's swimming team gave coach Frank Busch a nice send-off Saturday in Minneapolis.

Chitwood won an NCAA title in the 200-yard backstroke for the second straight year, and the Wildcats edged Florida for fourth place - UA's seventh top-4 finish in the last eight years.

The junior Chitwood swam the 200 back in 1 minute 38.84 seconds to edge Indiana's Eric Ress (1:38.96). UA freshman Michael Sheppard was seventh in 1:42.29.

In the final event, Arizona finished fifth in the 400-yard freestyle relay to leapfrog Florida for fourth with 302 points in the three-day NCAA men's swimming and diving championships. The Gators, who led by three points going into the relay, finished at 291.

California (493) won the 400 free relay to hold off Texas (470.5) for its first NCAA men's team title since 1980. Stanford (403) was third overall.

UA's 400 free relay team of Nimrod Shapira Bar-Or, Adam Small, Mitchell Friedemann and Cameron Owen Jr. finished in 2:50.83 behind Cal (2:47.39), Auburn (2:49.47), USC (2:50.32) and Texas (2:50.47).

Chitwood's win preserved a 21-year streak in which Busch coached at least one NCAA titlist. Busch is leaving UA to take over as the national team director for USA Swimming in May.

Cal's Graeme Moore, Josh Daniels, Tom Shields and Nathan Adrian clinched the team title for the Bears by winning the 400 free relay.

Adrian also won the 100 freestyle in 41.10 seconds.

"We knew we could do something special," he said.

Texas won two events, but couldn't erase a 63.5-point deficit to win. Texas' Michael McBroom won the 1,650 freestyle in 14:32.86 to start the night. Texas took the lead by a half-point after Eric Friedland won the 200 breaststroke in 1:52.43.

One year after finishing first, but getting disqualified for an illegal one-handed touch on the first turn, Georgia's Mark Dylla won the 200 butterfly in 1:40.60.

Duke's Nick McCrory won his second straight platform diving title, denying Purdue's David Boudia's bid to become the first male to sweep all three diving events.