Teachers representing eight states will apply classroom experience to

federal, congressional, and executive branch offices

WASHINGTON--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Nine accomplished K-12 science, technology, engineering and mathematics

teachers from across the United States have been named 2019-2020 Albert

Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellows. The fellows will spend 11

months serving in a federal agency or U.S. Congressional office in

Washington, D.C., engaged in the national STEM education arena.

The Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship Program provides a

unique opportunity for accomplished K-12 STEM educators to apply their

extensive classroom knowledge and experiences to their host offices to

inform federal STEM education efforts.

The 2019-2020 Einstein Fellows are as follows:

Amara Alexander – Woodmore Elementary, Chattanooga, Tenn.


Antinone – R.L. Paschal High School, Fort Worth, Texas


Bryant – South Warren High School, Bowling Green, Ky.

Emilie Hill –

Girls Academic Leadership Academy, Dr. Michelle King School for STEM,

Sun Valley, Calif.

Stephen Kirsche – Freedom Crossing Academy, St.

Johns, Fla.

Alexandra Laing – School District of Palm Beach County,

Lake Worth, Fla.

Kenneth Mims – Science Prep Academy, Phoenix, Ariz.


Lou O’Donnell – Plainview Old Bethpage JFK High School, Long Beach, NY


Reynolds – J.E. Harrison Middle School, Pittsburgh, Penn.

The 2019-2020 Einstein Fellows come from K-12 schools across the country

and represent diverse teaching backgrounds—with expertise in computer

science, engineering, science, and mathematics. Federal agencies and

U.S. Congressional Offices will benefit from fellows’ real-world

experiences as educators. In return, Einstein Fellows will gain

understanding of the role of the Federal Government in the U.S.

education enterprise, knowledge of resources available to students and

educators, and broader perspectives on national education issues that

can be applied to the classroom or to leadership positions in their

districts or elsewhere.

The AEF Program, now in its 29th year of operation, is managed by the

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s Office of Workforce

Development for Teachers and Scientists in collaboration with the

sponsoring agencies and the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and


Current sponsoring agencies of the AEF Program include DOE, the Library

of Congress, the Naval Sea Systems Command, and the National Aeronautics

and Space Administration. In addition to sponsoring placements at DOE

headquarters, DOE sponsors five placements in U.S. Congressional offices.

The Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) is a

world-class DOE institute designed to strengthen a scientific workforce;

promote the integrity of scientific research through peer review;

provide 24/7 medical response to radiation accidents; evaluate human

health data to protect workers from occupational hazards; and conduct

independent environmental cleanup assessments.

Follow us on Twitter: @AEF_Program


Michael Holtz, APR