Johnstone recognized for energy work

The International District Energy Association presented its 2016 Unsung Hero Award to Henry Johnstone, president of Tucson-based GHLN Architects & Engineers Inc.

The firm has worked on a range of innovative energy, utilities and carbon-reduction projects for government, higher education and other large facilities and fleets since 1975.

As part of the group’s 107th Conference and Trade Show in June, Johnstone, a newly elected member of the association’s board of directors, was honored for his leadership in developing a spreadsheet-based screening tool to help communities assess the feasibility of deploying district energy systems, which use centralized plants to heat or cool multiple buildings.

LaWall, deputy county attorneys honored

Pima County Attorney Barbara LaWall was honored by the Arizona Women Lawyers Association with the 2016 Sarah Herring Sorin Award. LaWall was selected “in recognition of her long-time support and encouragement for the advancement of women in the legal profession.”

The award is named in honor of Arizona’s first woman lawyer.

In 1996, LaWall was the first woman elected Pima County attorney.

Deputy Pima County Attorneys Alan Goodwin, Daniel South and Frances Kreamer Hope were honored in June by the Arizona Prosecuting Attorney’s Advisory Council at its annual conference in Tucson.

Goodwin and Keamer Hope were named APAAC’s 2016 Felony Prosecutors of the Year. Also in mid-June, Goodwin received the 2016 Michael Cudahy Criminal Justice Award from the State Bar of Arizona.

South was honored with APAAC’s 2016 David R. White Excellence in Victim Advocacy Award.

Send items for Biz Awards to

Arizona Daily Star