The deadline for entries in the fourth annual Tucson Festival of Books Literary Awards is 5 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 31. The competition offers more than $5,000 in prize money across three categories: fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

In addition to the cash prizes, first- through third-place winners in each category receive scholarships to the March 14-15 masters workshop at the University of Arizona Poetry Center. The top 50 entrants are invited to attend the workshop, which participants have described as “transformative” and its faculty as “absolutely top-notch.”

Past workshop faculty members have included Kevin Canty, Chitra Divakaruni, Rigoberto Gonzalez, Ann Hood, Marilyn Nelson, Bill Roorbach and Larry Watson.

Go to for more information and to submit an entry.