Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Voters approve retention of all judges

Voters approve retention of all judges

  • Updated

Pima County residents voted to retain all the Superior Court judges up for retention yesterday in the general election.

The judges up for retention were: Jeffrey Bergin, Christopher Browning, Javier Chon-Lopez, Charles Harrington, Danelle Liwski, James Marner, Richard Nichols, Kathleen Quigley, K.C. Stanford and Catherine Woods.

Earlier this year Arizona's Commission on Judicial Performance overwhelming decided Woods did not meet the standard for retention.

Judges are appointed by the governor but voters decide every four years whether jurists should remain on the bench.

Statewide, voters also retained Arizona Supreme Court Judges Scott Bales and Robert Brutinel. Judge Garye Vasquez of the Arizona Court of Appeals Division II also won his retention vote.

Contact reporter Patrick McNamara at 573-4241 or On Twitter @pm929.

Subscribe to stay connected to Tucson. A subscription helps you access more of the local stories that keep you connected to the community.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News