Arizona’s primary elections are Aug. 28.

Residents in Oro Valley, Marana, Sahuarita and South Tucson will vote on new town council members in August, including a mayor’s race in Oro Valley.

Other local races include the clerk of the Pima County Superior Court and several justice of the peace elections. The only municipality that doesn’t have races in August or November is the city of Tucson, which holds elections in odd-numbered years.

Candidates were required to file by Wednesday night to be on the ballot.

Town races

In Oro Valley, Mayor Satish Hiremath is running for another term and is being challenged by Joe Winfield.

On the council, incumbents Lou Waters, Joe Hornat and Mary Snider are seeking re-election. Challengers Melanie Barrett, Joyce Jones-Ivey and Josh Nicolson have entered the council race for the three seats.

Oro Valley races are nonpartisan and decided by the top vote-getters in the August primary.

In Sahuarita, Dalia Zimmerman, Lora Nastase, Kara Egbert, Mitchell Miramontes, Tom Murphy and Ryan Huber have filed signatures to run for three town council seats that are up for grabs. Those positions are now held by Egbert, Murphy and Councilman Duane Blumberg, who is not seeking another term.

The mayor of Sahuarita is chosen by council members after an election.

In Marana, town council members Patti Comerford, Herb Kai, John Post and just-appointed John Officer all are asking voters for more time on the council. Residents Jeff Gray, Mace Bravin and Jack Neubeck will also be on the ballot.

Like Oro Valley, the town council races are nonpartisan and decided by the top vote-getters in August.

County, JP races

In Pima County, Republican Toni Hellon is running for another term as the clerk of the Pima County Superior Court. Gary Harrison, a Democrat, has filed paperwork to run against Hellon. This race will be decided in the November general election.

In District 1, Justice of the Peace Adam Watters, a Republican, has filed paperwork for another term and will face former JP Anne Segal, an independent. A rematch of the 2014 election, the two will face each other in November.

Over in District 5, JP Keith Bee will face fellow Republican Doug Taylor in the Aug. 28 primary.

And in the District 2 constable race, Democrats Esther Gonzalez and Anna Lynn will face off in the August primary.

Candidate information for the South Tucson Council was not available Wednesday night.

Races in November will also include a host of local school board positions.

Contact reporter Joe Ferguson at or 573-4197. On Twitter: @JoeFerguson{/span}


Reporter with the Arizona Daily Star. I cover politics as well as the city of Tucson and other municipalities in Southern Arizona.