Kristen Engel, left, Stefanie Mach and Dave Bradley at the Pima County Democratic Party gathering at the University Mariott, Tuesday, November 8, 2016, Tucson, Ariz. Kelly Presnell / Arizona Daily Star

The're a difference of just 230 votes between two candidates running for a State House seat in Tucson's District 10, and every ballot may need to be counted before we know the outcome.

Democrat Kirsten Engel had 38,073 votes, Republican Todd Clodfelter had 37,843 votes, and Democratic incumbent Stefanie Mach had 37,613 votes, as of 1:10 p.m. Wednesday.

Pima County had about 48,000 early ballots and provisional ballots left to count today, but it wasn't clear how many of those were cast in District 10.

After early results were announced Tuesday evening, it seemed likely Mach had won a third term in the House, but her lead narrowed and then she fell behind as more results came in today.

District 10 includes an open seat because incumbent Democrat Bruce Wheeler is stepping down.


In another close race, incumbent representative Chris Ackerley, a Republican, was behind Democrat Daniel Hernandez in District 2 by about 1,500 votes.

Incumbent Rosanna Gabaldon, a Democrat, likely has won a third term in the predominately Democratic district.

In other preliminary state House results:

  • In District 14, Republicans Drew John of Safford and Becky Ann Nutt of Clifton-Duncan defeated Democrats Mike Holmes of Vail and Jason Lindstrom of Sierra Vista.
  • Voters elected Democrat Randy Friese to a second term and appear to have chosen Democrat Pamela Powers Hannley to fill an open seat in District 9.
  • Voters re-elected District 11 Republicans Mark Finchem and Vince Leach.
  • Voters re-elected District 3 Democrats Sally Ann Gonzales and Macario Saldate.
  • Democrats Charlene Fernandez and Jesus Rubalcava ran unopposed in District 4.

Voters re-elected Republicans Steve Smith in District 11 and Gail Griffin in District 14. They also re-elected Democrats Andrea Dalessandro in District 2 and David Bradley in District 10.

Local voters had fewer choices than usual for state senators. Democrats Olivia Cajero Bedford, District 3; Lisa Otondo, District 4; and Steve Farley, District 9, all ran unopposed this year.

Star apprentices and University of Arizona journalism students Julianne Stanford, Gabriella Vukelic and Natalia Navarro contributed to this report. Contact reporter Becky Pallack at On Twitter: @BeckyPallack