Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
TUSD board votes to close 11 schools, save 3

TUSD board votes to close 11 schools, save 3

  • Updated

Tucson Unified School District's Governing Board voted tonight to close 11 schools to save money (although one of those schools will later reopen), while saving three other schools.

Approved for closure are Fort Lowell/Townsend K-8; Carson Middle School; Hohokam Middle School; Corbett Elementary; Lyons Elementary; Schumaker Elementary; Howenstine High School; Maxwell Middle School; Brichta Elementary; Menlo Park Elementary and Wakefield Middle School.

However, plans call for Brichta and Menlo Park students to move to a reopened Maxwell, which would become a K-8 school.

The board voted to to save Sewell Elementary and Cragin Elementary. Manzo Elementary is also safe, with the possibility of becoming a charter school.

Read more of this story Friday in the Arizona Daily Star and on StarNet.

Subscribe to stay connected to Tucson. A subscription helps you access more of the local stories that keep you connected to the community.

Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News