Arizona Wildcats football logo NEW

Sophomore quarterback Khalil Tate took home team MVP honors at the Arizona Wildcats’ annual awards banquet Sunday night at the El Conquistador Resort.

Tate took over at quarterback Oct. 7 at Colorado, led Arizona to four straight victories and thrust himself into the Heisman Trophy conversation. He finished the regular season second in the Pac-12 in rushing yards per game, totaling 1,353 in 10 contests.

Junior receiver Shun Brown won the Tedy Bruschi Award, given to the player who best demonstrates hard work, commitment, determination and selflessness. Brown leads the team with 39 receptions for 511 yards and five touchdowns. He also has returned two punts for TDs.

Offensive guard Jacob Alsadek, tailback Nick Wilson and safeties Dane Cruikshank and Jarvis McCall were named season captains by their teammates. They will serve in that capacity for Arizona in the Dec. 27 Foster Farms Bowl against Purdue.

Alsadek, a four-year starter, also was named Lineman of the Year.

The Pac-12 will announce its all-league awards Tuesday.