Well, it’s about that time.









On Wednesday.

Anyway, regular season is over, so let’s cut right to the chase — it’s time for some postseason awards.

The real awards come out tomorrow. But here are the Pac-12 Pundit Awards. Note: These are not necessarily my predictions, just my own selections. Plus, I made up some awards of my own anyway.

Here’s what I had at the midway point.

Let me know what you think in the comments section, on Twitter or via e-mail, if you please. Would love to hear what you guys think I got wrong/right.


(Note: I went with three teams of five, instead of the Pac-12’s one team of 10 and one of five. And I didn’t do it as if I was building a starting line-up, like many of these things do. Just in order of most deserving)

First team

  • T.J. McConnell, Arizona
  • Stanley Johnson, Arizona
  • Delon Wright, Utah
  • Joseph Young, Oregon
  • Norman Powell, UCLA

Second team

  • Gary Payton II, Oregon State
  • Chasson Randle, Stanford
  • Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, Arizona
  • Anthony Brown, Stanford
  • Nigel Williams-Goss, Washington

Third team

  • Tyrone Wallace, California
  • Josh Hawkinson, Washington State
  • Askia Booker, Colorado
  • Kevon Looney, UCLA
  • Brandon Taylor, Utah

If I were to do a, like, hypothetical fourth team, which I'm basically just doing by writing this: Bryce Alford, UCLA; Stefan Nastic, Stanford; DaVonte Lacy, Washington State; Andrew Andrews, Washington; Jordan Mathews, Cal.

Player of the Year

T.J. McConnell, Arizona

I’ll have a story out about this tonight which I’ll update this post with. But long story short — McConnell is the heart and soul of the Pac-12’s best team, he’s played well in big moments, has won the match-ups with Young and Wright — both statistically and literally — and is the league’s best point guard. His award to lose.

Runner-ups: 2. Joseph Young, Oregon; 3. Delon Wright, Utah

Defensive Player of the Year

Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, Arizona

Makes defense look fun. Covers point guards and power forwards within the same game.


How good is that? For the season, those leading scorers on average, uh, average 16.2 points per game. That’s not an exact science — I don’t have the video in front of me so I’m not sure exactly how much time Hollis-Jefferson spent on each player, if any, but it’s still indicative of his impact.

Payton II has the individual numbers, but Hollis-Jefferson is the best overall defender in the league, and has had the bet defensive season. Other names that stand-out: McConnell, Wright, Utah’s Jakob Poeltl and Brandon Taylor, Oregon’s Jacob Bell.

Runner-up: 2. Gary Payton II, Oregon State

Coach of the Year

Sean Miller, Arizona

You can certainly make the case for Dana Altman, but Arizona is so much better than everyone else in the conference, in which it finished 16-2, and it all starts with Miller. This team has had its issues at times, but he’s made it work, and the Wildcats are en fuego right now. Altman helped the Ducks finish unprecedentedly in second place, Wayne Tinkle made the Beavers relevant, even if they tailed off at the end. Herb Sendek deserves mention, too.

Runner-ups: 2. Dana Altman, Oregon, 3. Herb Sendek, ASU

Most Improved Player

Josh Hawkinson, Washington State.

He averaged 1.2 points and 1.6 rebounds per game as a freshman. He averages a double-double (14.7 points, 10.8 rebounds) now. Done and done.

Runner-ups: 2. Stefan Nastic, Stanford; 3. Norman Powell, UCLA

Freshman of the Year

Stanley Johnson, Arizona

The lockiest lock of all the awards candidates, if not for a lack of competition. He hasn’t played his best basketball recently, but even so, he’s Arizona’s most talented player, his stats are solid, and he’s had some big games. Kevon Looney was a candidate for a while, but he’s not consistent enough. Stan Man for the win.

Runner-up: 2. Kevon Looney, UCLA


  • Stanley Johnson, Arizona
  • Kevon Looney, UCLA
  • Jakob Poeltl, Utah
  • Dillon Brooks, Oregon
  • Jordan Bell, Oregon

Power Rankings

  1. Arizona
  2. Oregon
  3. Utah
  4. UCLA
  5. Arizona State
  6. Stanford
  7. Oregon State
  8. California
  9. Colorado
  10. Washington
  11. Washington State
  12. USC