Pueblo Politics: Comments solicited on redistricting candidates

2010-11-22T14:50:00Z Pueblo Politics: Comments solicited on redistricting candidatesRhonda Bodfield Arizona Daily Star
November 22, 2010 2:50 pm  • 

The state is seeking public comments on 40 candidates angling for a seat on the five-member commission that will go about carving up the state next year into congressional and legislative districts.

The candidates will be interviewed at a public meeting in Phoenix on Dec. 8. The commission has to nominate 25 people by Jan . 8 to serve on the Independent Redistricting Commission. The top Democratic and Republican leaders in the House and Senate will each get a pick, then the four appointed members will pick the fifth member.

Public comments will be taken at the meeting, which begins at 8 a.m. at the Arizona State Courts Building in Phoenix, 1501 W. Washington, Rm. 345. Written comments, which must be received by Dec. 3 to be considered, may be sent to 1501 W. Washington, Suite 221, Phoenix, AZ  85007.

Here’s the list:


Marcia J. Busching (Maricopa County)

Robert L. Cannon (Maricopa County)

Frances B. Dickman (Maricopa County)

Luis A. Gonzales (Pima County)

Eric B. Henderson (Navajo County)

Jose M. Herrera (Maricopa County)

Michael Kuby (Maricopa County)

Linda C. McNulty (Pima County)

Lawrence C. Mohrweis (Coconino County)

William G. Roe (Pima County)

Mark D. Rubin (Pima County)

S.L. “Si” Schorr (Pima County)

Jimmie D. Smith (Yuma County)

Kimulet W. Winzer (Maricopa County)

Marshall A. Worden (Pima County)



Paul Bender (Maricopa County)

Raymond F. Bladine (Maricopa County)

Doug Campos-Outcalt (Maricopa County)

Catherine Castle (Maricopa County)

Adolfo P. Echeveste (Maricopa County)

Kimber L. Lanning (Maricopa County)

Coleen C. Mathis (Pima County)

Timothy W. Overton (Maricopa County)

Margarita Silva (Maricopa County)

Linda Spears (Maricopa County)




Jim Bruner (Maricopa County)

Louis A. DeLeon (Maricopa County)

Scott D. Freeman (Maricopa County)

Christopher M. Gleason (Pima County)

Patrick McWhortor (Maricopa County)

Jeffrey D. Miller (Pima County)

Michael R. Perry (Maricopa County)

Crystal A. Russell (Maricopa County)

Mark E. Schnepf (Maricopa County)

Leslie A. Schwalbe (Maricopa County)

Susan F. Shultz (Maricopa County)

Stephen J. Sossaman (Maricopa County)

Richard Stertz (Pima County)

Lynn Werner (Maricopa County)

Benny E. White (Pima County)

Copyright 2014 Arizona Daily Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

About this blog

The Arizona Daily Star's Pueblo Politics blog includes stories and related items from the Tucson and Pima County political scene written by Star reporters Becky Pallack and Joe Ferguson.

Have a political topic you would like to see in the blog or suggestions? Email Becky Pallack at bpallack@tucson.com and Joe Ferguson at jferguson@tucson.com

Featured businesses

View more...

Deals, offers & events

View more...