Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
2 open Pima County supervisor seats attract attention as candidates file petitions to run
top story

2 open Pima County supervisor seats attract attention as candidates file petitions to run

  • Updated

Ally Miller, left, and the late Richard Elías of the Pima County Board of Supervisors.

Candidates have filed their nominating petitions to run in federal, state and county races, including Arizona’s high-profile U.S. Senate contest.

Among other races drawing attention are two open seats on the Pima County Board of Supervisors, as District 1 Republican Supervisor Ally Miller isn’t seeking reelection and District 5 Democratic Supervisor Richard Elías died on March 28. His temporary replacement, Betty Villegas, is not running for election.

Listed below are federal, state and Pima County candidates for offices representing the greater Tucson area, who filed signatures in time for the Monday, April 6 deadline, according to the websites of election officials.

However, this doesn’t mean that all candidates listed filed enough valid signatures of voters to qualify for the Aug. 4 Democratic and Republican primary elections; elections officials will now work on checking signatures.

Incumbents are marked with asterisks.

U.S. Senate

Daniel McCarthy (R)

* Martha McSally (R)

Mark Kelly (D)

U.S. representative in Congress — District 1

Nolan Reidhead (R)

Doyel Shamley (R)

Tiffany Shedd (R)

* Tom O’Halleran (D)

Eva Putzova (D)

U.S. Representative in Congress — District 2

Brandon Martin (R)

Joseph Morgan (R)

Noran Eric Ruden (R)

Shay Stautz (R)

* Ann Kirkpatrick (D)

Peter Quilter (D)

U.S. Representative in Congress — District 3

Daniel Wood (R)

* Raúl Grijalva (D)

Arizona Corporation Commission (three seats)

David Farnsworth (R)

* Lea Marquez Peterson (R)

Nicholas Myers (R)

Kim Owens (R)

Eric Sloan (R)

William Mundell (D)

Shea Stanfield (D)

Anna Tovar (D)

Pima County supervisor — District 1

Bill Beard (R)

Rhonda Pina (R)

Steven J. Spain (R)

Vic Williams (R)

Brian Radford (D)

Rex Scott (D)

Daniel X. Aguilera (GRN)

Pima County supervisor — District 2

Anthony D. Sizer (R)

Matt Heinz (D)

Richard Hernandez (D)

* Ramón O. Valadez (D)

Pima County supervisor — District 3

Gabriela S. Mercer (R)

* Sharon Bronson (D)

Juan F. Padrés (D)

Pima County supervisor — District 4

John Backer (R)

* Steve Christy (R)

Steve Diamond (D)

Pima County supervisor — District 5

Fernando Gonzales (R)

Trista Tranposch Di Genova-Change (D)

Adelita S. Grijalva (D)

Consuelo Hernandez (D)

Pima County attorney

Laura Conover (D)

Mark Thomas Diebolt (D)

Jonathan Mosher (D)

Pima County sheriff

* Mark D. Napier (R)

Kevin Edward Kubitskey (D)

Chris Nanos (D)

Pima County recorder

Benny E. White (R)

Kimberly Challender (D)

Gabriella Cázares-Kelly (D)

Pima County treasurer

* Beth Ford (R)

Brian Bickel (D)

Pima County assessor

Suzanne Droubie (D)

Brian Johnson (D)

Dustin Walters (D)

Pima County superintendent of schools

* Dustin Williams (D)

Pima County justice of the peace — District 2

John Maley (R)

* Erica Cornejo (D)

Justice of the peace — District 4

* Charlene Pesquiera (D)

Justice of the peace — District 6

Alexander Ball (D)

* Paula Aboud (D)

Justice of the peace — District 9

Alfonso Ramirez (D)

* Kendrick Allen Wilson (D)

Justice of the peace — District 10

* Vince Roberts (R)

Pima County constable — District 1

John Dorer (R)

Constable — District 4

* Oscar Vasquez (D)

Constable — District 6

* Bennett L. Bernal (D)

Roberto Ponti (D)

Constable — District 7

* Thomas Richard Schenek (R)

Constable — District 8

* Kristen Randall (D)

Constable — District 9

George A. Camacho (D)

* Joe Ferguson (D)

Constable — District 10

* Michael P. Stevenson (R)

State Senate — District 2

Mark Workman (R)

Rosanna Gabaldón (D)

State Senate — District 3

* Sally Ann Gonzales (D)

State Senate — District 9

* Victoria Steele (D)

State Senate — District 10

Justine Wadsack (R)

Kirsten Engel (D)

State Senate — District 11

* Venden “Vince” Leach (R)

JoAnna Mendoza (D)

Linda Patterson (D)

State Senate — District 14

* David Gowan (R)

Bob Karp (D)

State representative — District 2 (two seats)

Andrea Dalessandro (D)

* Daniel Hernandez, Jr. (D)

Luis Parra (D)

Billy Peard (D)

State representative - District 3 (two seats)

* Andrés Cano (D)

* Alma Hernandez (D)

Javier Soto (D)

State representative — District 9 (two seats)

Brendan Lyons (R)

* Randall Friese (D)

* Pamela Powers Hannley (D)

State representative — District 10 (two seats)

Mabelle Gummere (R)

Michael Hicks (R)

* Domingo DeGrazia (D)

Stephanie Stahl Hamilton (D)

Paul Stapleton-Smith (D)

State representative — District 11 (two seats)

* Mark Finchem (R)

* Bret Roberts (R)

Felipe Perez (D)

State representative — District 14 (two seats)

* Gail Griffin (R)

* Becky Nutt (R)

Kimberly Beach- Moschetti (D)

Ronnie Maestas-Condos (D)

Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News