Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
In 3-to-2 vote, Pima County Supervisors certify election results

In 3-to-2 vote, Pima County Supervisors certify election results

The Pima County Board of Supervisors voted 3-2 Tuesday to certify the 2020 general election, making the results official in an election cycle that drew unprecedented voter turnout and registration. The two Republicans on the board — Ally Miller and Steve Christy — voted not to certify the results.

Pima County was one of 13 counties throughout the state that made their results official in the last week. The Maricopa County Board of Supervisors certified results on Friday. Mohave County and Coconino County have yet to complete their official canvass, coming close to the Nov. 23 deadline.

Prior to the Nov. 3 election, the number of registered voters in Pima County topped 600,000 for the first time in history. Of the 638,000 eligible voters in the county, about 526,000 — 82% — participated in the general election. The statewide voter turnout also reached nearly 80%, the highest in recent history.

Here’s a look at the results for some local and statewide races. For more election results and historical voting information, visit the Arizona Secretary of State’s website at


Joe Biden (DEM)

49.39% or 1,672,143 votes

Donald Trump (REP)

49.08% or 1,661,686 votes

Joe Biden won Arizona by approximately 10,000 votes statewide. In Pima County, however, the gap between the candidates was much larger with 304,981 votes for Biden and 207,758 for Trump.

U.S. Senator

Mark Kelly (DEM)

51.17% or 1,716,467 votes

Martha McSally (REP)

48.82% or 1,637,661 votes

Republican Martha McSally conceded the race to Democrat Mark Kelly last week after results showed her trailing by nearly 80,000 votes. In Pima County, Kelly held nearly 60% of the vote.


PROP. 207

60% or 1,956,440 voted yes, 40% or 1,302,458 voted no

Arizona voters approved Proposition 207, making the possession, use and cultivation of recreational marijuana legal throughout the state. Once the election results are made official Nov. 30, possession of up to one ounce will be legal for adults over 21.

PROP 208

52% or 1,675,810 said yes, 48% or 1,562,639 said no

Also known as the Invest in Education Act, Proposition 208 will raise revenue for educator salaries by increasing taxes on Arizona's highest earners.

Pima County Recorder

Gabriella Cázares-Kelly (DEM)

59% or 289,932 votes

Benny White (REP)

41% or 203,631 votes

Pima County Sheriff

Chris Nanos (DEM)

50.34% or 252,196 votes

Mark Napier (REP)

49.66% or 248,765 votes

Pima County Assessor

Suzanne Droubie (DEM)

58% or 280,981 votes

Jo Ann Sabbagh (REP) 

42% or 206,470 votes

Pima County Treasurer

Beth Ford (REP)

50.59% or 250,713 votes

Brian Bickel (DEM)

49.41% or 244,843 votes

Pima County Supervisors

District 1

Rex Scott (DEM): 50.28% or 66,565votes

Steve Spain (REP): 49.72% or 65,835 votes

District 2

Matt Heinz (DEM): 68% or 48,153 votes

Anthony Sizer (REP): 32% or 22,885 votes

District 3 

Sharon Bronson (DEM): 57% or 51,823 votes

Gabby Saucedo Mercer (REP): 43% or 38,410 votes

District 4

Steve Christy (REP): 55% or 69,292 votes

Steve Diamond (DEM): 45% or 57,813 votes

District 5

Adelita Grijalva (DEM): 74% or 56,266 votes

Fernando Gonzales (REP): 26% or 20,179 votes

Arizona Congressional Delegation 

District 1

Tom O'Halleran (DEM): 52% or 188,469 votes

Tiffany Shed (REP): 48% or 176,709 votes

District 2

Ann Kirkpatrick (DEM): 55% or 209,945 votes

Brandon Martin (REP): 45% or 170,975 votes

District 3

Raúl Grijalva (DEM): 65% or 174,243 votes

Daniel Wood (REP): 35% or 95,594 votes

District 4

Paul Gosar (REP): 70% or 278,002 votes

Delina Dissinto (DEM): 30% or 120,484 votes

District 5

Andy Biggs (REP): 59% or 262,414 votes

Joan Greene (DEM): 41% or 183,171 votes

District 6

David Schweikert (REP): 52% or 217,783 votes

Hiral Tipirneni (DEM): 48% or 199,644 votes

District 7

Ruben Gallego (DEM): 77% or 165,452 votes

Joshua Barnett (REP): 23% or 50,226 votes

District 8

Debbie Lesko (REP): 60% or 251,633 votes

Michael Muscato (DEM): 40% or 170,816 votes

District 9

Greg Stanton (DEM): 62% or 217,094 votes

Dave Giles (REP): 38% or 135,180 votes

Contact reporter Jasmine Demers at

On Twitter: @JasmineADemers.

Get Government & Politics updates in your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News