Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Edit
Voters pass Tucson's $15 minimum wage proposition
breaking featured top story

Voters pass Tucson's $15 minimum wage proposition

C. J. Boyd, campaign manager for the Prop 206, talks with reporters outside the MSA Annex in Tucson on Tuesday night.

Leer en español

Tucson's minimum wage will be gradually increased to $15 an hour after city voters approved the pay measure on Tuesday.

About 60% of tallied responses voted 'yes' for Proposition 206 — the ballot initiative to gradually raise Tucson’s minimum wage to $15 an hour by 2025 — while about 32% of voters voted 'no', according to unofficial general election results released by the Tucson City Clerk’s office Tuesday night. Nearly 8% of voters didn't submit a vote on the item. 

The proposition will first increase the minimum wage to $13 in April 2022 and eventually reach $15 in January 2025. After that, wages will increase based on the rate of inflation.

C.J. Boyd, the campaign manager for the group behind the ballot initiative, Tucson Fight for 15, celebrated with staff and supporters of the campaign Tuesday night. 

"So many people came together to make this happen," he said. "We got over 100 local businesses to sign on to this. I think that was really important to make it clear that this is something where the whole community benefits from it."

Arizona’s current minimum wage is $12.15 an hour, and the Prop. 206 group estimates about 85,000 city residents will get raises.

The ordinance also calls for the city to set up an office to investigate complaints from employees who believe they haven’t been paid properly while giving jurisdiction to the City Court to hear civil cases alleging violation of the measure.

Proponents of the initiative say the minimum wage raise is long overdue to keep up with the cost of living in Tucson, while opponents say the measure creates an administrative burden on business owners. 

Prop 206 also impacts tipped workers. State law allows tipped workers to be paid $3 less than non-tipped workers, and the bill maintains that difference by allowing tipped workers to earn $12 an hour when minimum wage reaches $15.

The measure also requires workers scheduled for at least three hours who have their shift canceled with less than 24 hours' notice to be compensated for three hours’ worth of pay.

Contact reporter Nicole Ludden at nludden@tucson.com


Subscribe to stay connected to Tucson. A subscription helps you access more of the local stories that keep you connected to the community.

Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Nicole joined the Star in 2021. She earned her bachelor’s degree in journalism at ASU’s Cronkite school in 2020 and has won awards from the Society of Professional Journalists, AC Press and Arizona Press Club.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.

Topics

News Alerts

Breaking News